Only a Mother by Elisabeth Carpenter #BlogTour #BookReview @LibbyCPT @orionbooks @orion_crime @Tr4cyF3nt0n

Only a Mother 1.jpg

Author: Elisabeth Carpenter

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Publication Date: 27 December 2018

Publisher: Orion

Paperback: 352 Pages


Synopsis

ONLY A MOTHER . . .

Erica Wright hasn’t needed to scrub ‘MURDERER’ off her house in over a year. Life is almost quiet again. Then her son, Craig, is released from prison, and she knows the quiet is going to be broken.
COULD BELIEVE HIM
Erica has always believed Craig was innocent – despite the lies she told for him years ago – but when he arrives home, she notices the changes in him. She doesn’t recognise her son anymore.
COULD LIE FOR HIM
So, when another girl goes missing, she starts to question everything. But how can a mother turn her back on her son? And, if she won’t, then how far will she go to protect him?
COULD BURY THE TRUTH

Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Louise Jensen, Katerina Diamond, Helen Fields and CL Taylor – a hard-hitting psychological thriller told from the fresh perspective of a killer’s mother.


My Thoughts

The thing I enjoyed most about this book is how the author created such an intense connection between me as a reader and the characters depicted in this book. For me in particular, I felt most strongly towards Erica who is the mother of Craig who was convicted of the murder of a young girl and has spent most of his adult life in prison. Erica has endured unbelievable backlash from the community and press after the conviction of her son to the point where she has basically been held just as liable for committing the crime as her son. Despite the atrocious things she has had to deal with her faith in her sons innocence has remained steadfast. 

I felt so strongly for Erica and can’t imagine what that must be like to have your only child accused and convicted of such a crime. The author beautifully put across Erica’s emotions and she was firmly a character I could get behind and wanted more than anything for her to prevail. 

The other character we get to know quite in-depth throughout this book is Luke, a local news reporter who becomes entangled in the drama upon Craig’s release. We get some depth in to Luke’s background and his family issues however, for me personally I’m not really sure how these parts added much value to the story apart from rounding out Luke’s character. In my personal opinion I would have rather Craig’s character been developed more and would have liked to read more about his thoughts and mind-set. Having said this, I did really enjoy this story on the whole and it’s an interesting concept reading about this situation from the mother’s point of view. 


About the Author

Elisabeth Carpenter lives in Preston with her family. She completed a BA in English Literature and Language with the Open University in 2008.

Elisabeth was awarded a Northern Writers’ New Fiction award, and was longlisted for Yeovil Literary Prize (2015 and 2016) and the MsLexia Women’s Novel award (2015). She loves living in the north of England and sets most of her stories in the area, including the novel she is writing at the moment. She currently works as a book keeper.

For more reviews and bookish musings follow me on Twitter @BooksBucks

Advertisements

One Comment Add yours

  1. lel2403 says:

    Reblogged this on The Bookwormery and commented:
    I love a good thriller, great review

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s