Perfect Liars by Rebecca Reid #BlogTour #BookReview #RandomThingsTours @RebeccaCNReid @TransworldBooks @annecater

Perfect Liars PB 1

Author: Rebecca Reid

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Format: Paperback 368 pages

Release Date:  1 September 2018

Publisher: Transworld Digital

Firstly I would like to thank Anne Cater at Random Things Tours for inviting me to join in this Blog Tour and the Publisher for the copy of this book they provided me for review. I’m excited to be wrapping up the tour with my review and if the great reviews i’ve read from the other tour stops are anything to go by then I hope this book will be a huge success! Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

Synopsis

They have it all. And they’ll do anything to keep it that way. 

For fans of Liane Moriarty and Lisa Jewell, Perfect Liars is truly gripping, dark and original. 

Sixteen years ago, best friends Nancy, Georgia and Lila did something unspeakable whilst attending an exclusive British boarding school. Their crime forged an unbreakable bond between them, a bond of silence. But now, one of them wants to talk. 

One wrong word and everything could be ruined; their covetable lives, careers and relationships. It’s up to Georgia to call a crisis dinner. But things do not go as planned. 

Three woman walk into the dinner, but only two will leave. 

Murder isn’t so difficult the second time around….

How far would you go to protect the life you’ve built? 

You can order your copy of ‘Perfect Liars’ on Amazon at:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Perfect-Liars-fans-HBOs-Little/dp/0552175609 

My Thoughts

I read this book in one sitting whilst on a plane and i’m so glad I had the time to sit there and read this in one go as it’s one of those books that warrants your attention from start to finish! 

This story is told to us between ‘then’ and ‘now’. The ‘then’ being the year they started lower sixth at boarding school and the ‘now’ being a dinner party which is being hosted at Georgia’s house in the hope that Nancy and Georgia can intervene and prevent Lila from spilling the beans about the secret that bonds the three of them together. 

The ‘now’ timeline is actually told over the period of one night which made this a very easy book to get consumed in as you’re almost reading along in real time with flashbacks from the past thrown in. 

This is such a complex trio of characters with all of them constantly trying to get one up on the other with a lot of fake smiles and laughs thrown in for good measure. I found myself wondering if there’s anything these women actually do like about each other! It is not the most healthy of friendships to say the least. 

As the synopsis provides, there are three main characters in this book. Nancy, Georgia and Lila. Unusually, all three of these characters are extremely unlikable but that’s actually what made this book work so well for me. 

Nancy comes across as the unofficial leader of this trio. The other two seem very conscious of what Nancy thinks of them and are constantly trying to please her in hopes that she will approve of them and their choices. Nancy lives in America so is somewhat removed from the other two who live round the corner from each other. Nancy waltzes into the dinner party with her toy-boy fiancé Brett and has an air of snobbery around her. I didn’t like her at all but she is definitely an interesting character to read about. 

Georgia was the scholarship student at boarding school wearing second hand clothes from the charity shop and Primark finds. She seems to have landed it lucky in later life though as she is now married and living in a house fit for the pages of a magazine. She comes across as a perfectionist and very conscious about what people think of her. Again, not the most likeable of characters but maybe the best of a bad bunch? 

Lila is definitely the ditsy one of the three and is seen by the other two as a liability when it comes to their closely guarded secret from childhood. Lila drinks a lot and has the most carefree attitude with regards to just about everything. With these three characters all thrown in together you have a recipe for one of the most toxic friendships i’ve read about. 

This book definitely explores the nasty side that female friendships can take. It made me really grateful that I have female friends who I genuinely like and enjoy spending time with! It explores social hierarchy all the way through from school to adulthood and how events which happened to the girls at school have had their lasting effect on them years later. 

This for me was an addictive read with some very dark angles. It’s not so much a twist at the end, as the synopsis already implies that one of them dies ‘three women walk in to the dinner, but only two will leave’, but the way the story unfolds that gets you to the end of the dinner party is a twisty path filled with tension! 

Very enjoyable writing form this author and a good debut novel. I look forward to reading what she writes next. 

About the Author

Rebecca is a freelance journalist. She is a columnist for the Telegraph Women’s section, works for Metro Online and has written for Marie Claire, the Guardian, the Saturday Telegraph, the Independent, Stylist, Glamour, the iPaper, the Guardian, Indy100, LOOK and the New Statesmen amongst others. Rebecca is a regular contributor to Sky News and ITV’s This Morning as well as appearing on Radio 4’s Woman’s Hour, LBC, BBC News 24 and the BBC World Service to discuss her work.

She graduated from Royal Holloway’s Creative Writing MA in 2015 and Perfect Liars is her debut novel. 

Rebecca lives in North London with her husband.

For more reviews and updates you can follow me on Twitter @BooksBucks

Advertisements

One Comment Add yours

  1. annecater says:

    HUGE THANKS FOR THE BLOG TOUR SUPPORT X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s