The Classroom by A. L. Bird #BlogTour #BookReview @ALBirdwriter @HQDigitalUK

186459-FCX.JPG

Author: A. L. Bird

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Format: Paperback 384 pages

Release Date: 15 November 2018

Publisher: HQ Digital

My Rating: ***

Today it is my great pleasure to join the blog tour for A. L. Bird’s new novel ‘The Classroom’. My thanks to the publisher HQ Digital for the advance copy for review and for inviting me to join the tour. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

Synopsis

Don’t miss the chilling new psychological thriller from A.L. Bird, author of The Good Mother and Don’t Say a Word, perfect for fans of C L Taylor, Sherryl Brown and Lisa Hall.

Letting go of your daughter for the first time isn’t easy…

After years of IVF, Kirsten White is a devoted mum to Harriet – and she can’t believe the time has come to send her little girl off to school. But Harriet has now turned five, and she can’t stay Kirsten’s baby forever. It might be hard, but it’s time to entrust her daughter’s care to her new teacher.

… the classroom is the one place she should be safe.

Miriam Robertson has been waiting for the perfect little girl to walk into her class. She’s very picky… but when Harriet walks in, Miriam knows: this is the child she’s been waiting for.

Harriet knows not to speak to strangers. But her lovely new teacher isn’t a stranger at all. In fact, she’s her new best friend. And you can always trust your friends… can’t you?

You can order your ebook copy of ‘The Classroom’ on Amazon for just 99p at the moment at:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Classroom-gripping-terrifying-thriller-which-ebook/dp/B07D25PYR4/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr= 

My Thoughts

Although I don’t have children, I felt there was a lot I could relate to in this book. That feeling that I imagine all parents must have about leaving their child in the care of someone else. But when that someone else is a teacher at their school you don’t think for one moment that they are the one person specifically who you should be most concerned about do you? Well that is the problem that Kirsten finds herself faced with in this book. 

The story is told alternating from the point of view from Kirsten and Miriam with flashbacks from another girl Becky. It’s not clear to begin with what part Becky plays in the larger story but all does become clear as the book progresses. 

I thought the ‘big reveal’ came quite early on in this book, and to begin with I felt slightly disappointed that as a reader I hadn’t been kept guessing for longer. However, upon completing the book I entirely understand why the author chose to pace the book in this way as it sets the scene for the second half of the book. The book for me is very much split into two halves and you will totally understand the reasoning why things are revealed where they are by the time you get to the end. 

Although I did thoroughly enjoy the premise of this book, for me there were no likeable characters. Kirsten is somewhat annoying and I felt like she takes a lot of the privileges of her life for granted. Miriam is the villain of the story and therefore as a reader we’re not meant to like her anyway. Kirsten’s husband plays the typical character of disinterested husband and father. There were no characters that I particularly found myself ‘rooting’ for. The only character that I did like in any way was young Harriet, who I just felt sorry for as she is caught in the middle of all the drama. 

Despite not particularly liking any of the characters, this book has all the makings of a good psychological thriller for me. Suspense, secrets and plenty of drama! The book is well written, although I did feel the ending came rather abruptly. Prior to the ending though there was a good twist to the story which I didn’t see coming. 

This is definitely a good, fairly easy read, albeit with some rather uneasy concepts attached. I would definitely recommend for fans of psychological thrillers and I look forward to what the author brings us next. 

About the Author

A.L. Bird lives in London, where she divides her time between writing, working as a lawyer, and running around after her young family. She loves writing dark, twisty thrillers. Bestselling The Good Mother was her first major psychological thriller for HQDigital. Don’t Say a Word (out now) is her chilling standalone next book. She has an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck, University of London, and is also an alumna of the Faber Academy ‘Writing a Novel’ course.

For more reviews and updates you can follow me on Twitter @BooksBucks

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s