‘Anarchy’ by Megan DeVos |@MeganDeVosBooks @orionbooks #blogtour #bookreview


Author: Megan DeVos

Genre: Science Fiction / Dystopian

Format: Paperback 400 pages

Release Date: 23 August 2018

Publisher: Orion 

My Rating: ****

Today it is my great pleasure to join the blog tour for Megan DeVos’s new novel ‘Anarchy’. My thanks to the publisher Orion Books for the advance copy for review and for inviting me to join the tour. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

The first in a 4-part series, Anarchy was originally published on Wattpad and has attracted 30 million readers worldwide. 


The world is different now. There are no rules, no governments, and no guarantees that you’ll be saved. 

Rival factions have taken over, fighting each other for survival with no loyalty to anyone but their own. At 21, Hayden has taken over Blackwing and is one of the youngest leaders in the area. In protecting his camp from starvation, raids from other factions and the threat of being kidnapped, he has enough to worry about before he finds Grace. 

The daughter of the head of the rival camp Greystone, she is slow to trust anyone, much less the leader of those she has been trained to kill. 

This is danger. This is chaos. This is anarchy. 

You can order your copy of ‘Anarchy’ on Amazon at:


My Thoughts

The book is told from the two main protagonists perspectives; Hayden and Grace with chapters dedicated to each. I personally like books written in this way, with chapters dedicated to expressing the views from the main characters. I find it gives a book a rounded sense and allowed me as the reader to experience the world these characters were living in from two very different perspectives. 

The book starts with Hayden out on a raid with his close friends Kit and Dax from the Blackwing camp. They decide to sneak into the rival camp Greystone rather than into the city because of the dangers from the ‘Brutes’ in order to collect much needed supplies for their camp. Things get out of hand when a young boy, Jett, from the Blackwing camp decides to sneak along after them and the groups efforts are thwarted by Greystone members. Dax and Kit manage to escape but Hayden and Kit are cornered by Grace. 

Grace makes the decision to let them go and is criticised heavily by her fellow camp mates, who just so happen to be her brother and father. When Grace is on a raid herself in the city, she is shot by the brutes and left behind by the members of her raid party. Close by, Hayden witnesses these events and decides to return the favour and rescues Grace and takes her back to Blackwing. 

However, not everyone in Blackwing is thrilled with Hayden’s new visitor and the decision is made that Grace must either be killed, or stay in camp as Hayden’s prisoner. Grace is not enthusiastic about being kept against her will, and Hayden is not exactly over the moon with having to share his personal space and be responsible for Grace. 

Although this book is capable of being read as a standalone, bear in mind that the book does finish on a bit of a cliff hanger and therefore be prepared to want to dedicate yourself to a series of books. I personally love a good series and I don’t think you’ll be disappointed if you do. 

I liked the bonus chapter at the end of the book told from the character ‘Doc’s’ perspective. This chapter gives a quick insight into how the camp was initially formed which was something I had been wondering throughout reading the book. Up until this point the reader isn’t given an awful lot of information about how the camp came into existence or how the people of the camp came to be in Blackwing camp as opposed to one of the other various camps mentioned. 

I guess this element of not having all the information available is to be expected in a series where not all the answers to the readers questions are answered and rather they are drawn out over the books throughout the series. I thought the addition of the bonus chapter was cleverly done, giving me as the reader just a taste of the answers I had been wondering whilst leaving me wanting more. 

I must admit, there was a bit more of a romance theme running through this book than I expected. Readers should be aware that some of the more ‘intimate’ scenes between Hayden and Grace are quite graphic and this book may not be suitable for younger readers. The only reason this is a 4 star review and not a 5 star is because for me personally I would have liked the ratio of action to romance to tilt more towards the action side of things.

Although, this is the first book in a four book series, so it may have been the authors intention to focus largely on the evolving relationship between Hayden and Grace in this book to set the scene between them for the coming books. Either way, this is a very good book that has captured my interest enough to make me want to read the rest of the series. 

I would recommend this book for anyone who is a fan of the Hunger Games or the Divergent series. 

About the Author

Megan DeVos grew up in Sioux Falls, South Dakota where she currently resides. She graduated from university with a bachelor’s degree in nursing, and has been working as a surgical nurse for the last two and a half years. She has always loved writing, and finally dedicated herself to it during university, where she wrote her first published novel, Anarchy. Connecting with readers worldwide has been the greatest outcome of writing, and is something she will continue to pursue during the rest of her career as a writer. 

For more reviews and updates follow me on Twitter @BooksBucks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s